2013 Golf Highlights

th annual Wilson Memorial Hospital Foundation Golf Classic on July 8. Net proceeds for the event were over $50,500, which will be used to build the Foundation’s general endowment fund. This fund provides perpetual support to Wilson Memorial Hospital. Total net funds raised since this event’s inception in 1995 are nearly $738,500.

166 golfers were registered to play in the event corporately supported by six Titanium sponsors: Advanced Composites; Dale Peterson and Associates, Inc.; Honda of America Manufacturing, Inc.; NK Logistics Group; NK Telco; and Premier Physician Services. The event attracted a total of 59 sponsors.
Kettering Anesthesia Associates, Inc. sponsored a hearty brunch served prior to the 11:00 shotgun start. Beverages and snacks on each Par 3 hole were provided by Orthopedic Associates of SW Ohio. Plastipak Packaging donated water on the course. Cocktails and dinner were offered at 5:00 p.m., followed by awards and prizes. Dinner, underwritten by N K Telco, included a prime rib and chicken buffet and was catered by The Spot Restaurant. 
Cart sponsors helped to defray the cost of the volunteers’ carts and included Air Handling, Inc., Dale Peterson & Associates; Francis-Schulze Co.; KTH Parts Industry; Ratermann Custom Home Builders; S & S Management, Inc. - Tom Shoemaker and Doug Steinke; and Schmiesing Veterinary Clinic, Inc.
Jim Brown, retired OSU men’s golf coach, and Archie Griffin, former American football running back who played for the Ohio State University, were guests of outing chair, Dale Peterson. 
Jason Wagner, was the winner of the closest-to-the-pin prize, a one-week stay in a Westin Resort villa at Hilton Head courtesy of the Wilson Memorial Hospital Foundation. Doug Fortkamp won the putting contest sponsored by Dale Peterson & Associates, Inc. and received the $200 reward.
A special grand prize drawing was held at dinner for several special prizes. The winner of an LG 42 inch LED HDTV courtesy of CDW was Tim Garner.
Dennis Ruble, Pete DeLuke, Sr. and John Amos were each winners of a $100 prize donated by Dale Peterson who also donated two OSU football tickets won by Dr. Patrick Sovacool.
Joe Dula was the lucky winner of a two night stay in a tower guest room at the Atlantis Casino Resort and Spa in Reno.
Overall first place winners of the event included: the Blue & Co. team of Brad Shaw, Julie Covault, Larry King and Ben Borchers. Second place winners were the NK Logistics Group team – Phil Cook, Bruce Hetzler, Steve Colebaugh and Dave Edelbrock. Third place winners were Mitch Kastein, Hank Zimpfer, Bruce Rinehart, and Matt Milholland who played on the Plastipak team.
The SKINS winning teams splitting an $830 prize were golfers Dr. Chuck Edelen, Dr. Patrick Sovacool and Rudy Keister on one team and Minster Bank’s Rhonda Keister and Jason Wagner who teamed up with Jeff Raible and Dawn Eilert from the Sidney-Shelby County Chamber. 
All golfers received various gift items and door prizes. Outstanding proximity prizes and those for longest putts and longest drives were awarded to 27 golfers. Donors of these prizes included: Ohio Bobcats, Allied Supply; Arrowhead Golf Club; Cal Jones; Cincinnati Reds; Cleveland Gladiators; Columbus Crew; Dayton Flyers; Elsass, Wallace, Evans, & Schnelle; Emerson Climate Technologies; FDL Automation; Francis-Schulze; Freshway Foods; The Medicine Shoppe; The OSU Theatre Department; Piqua Country Club; Primary EyeCare Associates; Shelby Oaks; Sollmann Electric; Toledo MudHens; US Foods; Victoria Theatre; Wilson Memorial Hospital and Xavier University Athletics.
The Fairlawn golf team and many community volunteers, along with the Hospital’s maintenance department assisted with the event.
Next year’s outing is scheduled for Monday, July 14, 2014 at Shelby Oaks. If you wish to be added to the mailing list, call 937-498-5540.
Archie Griffin takes his shot at winning a week at the Westin in Hilton Head, the closest-to-the-pin prize, as teammates (left to right) Matt Slonaker, Jim Brown, and Dale Peterson watch.
Doug Fortkamp winning $200 for the longest putt contest
Doug Fortkamp wins $200 in the longest putt contest
Tim Garner won the 42" LG LED HGTV donated by CDW